From Muse to Reality

Fiction, Politics and Essays

It Rankles

2 Comments

Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia’s replacement must be nominated by the President of the United States. It then falls to the United States Senate to confirm that nominee before he or she can take the seat on our nation’s highest court.

President Obama: “The confirmation of a Supreme Court Justice is a solemn responsibility that the President and the Senate share under the U. S. Constitution. It is not a political opportunity that reflects “left” or “right,” Democrat or Republican. It’s a serious obligation to make sure that an indisputably qualified person of integrity is nominated and confirmed to sit on the highest court in the land.”

“The Senate has almost a full year — more than 300 days — to consider and confirm a nominee.”

Bringing Ms. Anita Hill into the Picture

Anita Hill came forward during the nomination hearing giving a stunning testimony on the sexual harassment she experienced while in Clarence Thomas’s employ in the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). During the hearing the so called power structure grilled her to no end.

Ms. Hill published her autobiography,  Speaking Truth to Power, including her role in the Supreme Court nominee Clarence Thomas’s nconfirmation controversy in 1991. Ms. Hill went on to receive many awards and honors throughout her most prestigious life.

I remember the battle over Judge Clarence Thomas’s hearing well. I was unemployed at the time and watched every day and took handwritten notes. That’s when I decided to become a serious writer. I knew as an autodidact with half an education it would be a long and sober undertaking on my part.

I have been keeping up with President Obama’s new nominee, Merrick Garland, and some members of the Senate as they attempt to stop the hearing, because I am an American.

Minnie E. Miller, Writer

minniemiller247@gmail.com

Author: Minnie E. Miller

Author and Mz Minerva Publishing--Minnie Estelle Miller founder. I have spent years in politics in Chicago as a 20-something, wide eyed lady. And later in Los Angeles, San Francisco and finally back to Chicago. As a retiree, my days are filled with creative writing and posting on writing groups. I am still working on my memoir, don't go on Facebook or other social media. I truly believe that social media as we know it today is going to implode one day in the future. My WordPress acct. is https://msminerva.wordpress.com email is minniemiller247@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “It Rankles

  1. I too watched the Anita Hill/Clarence Thomas hearings.. As a matter of fact one of the conferring attorney’s Stan Grayson worked at the same company I did at the time. I was proud (at the time) that an African American had been nominated, but I soon became disenchanted with his NON actions. I guess I am from another era and while I “can” be verbose I know when to stay quiet and listen, just not for years and years like Judge Thomas.
    I am also quite upset (using my real sentiment might be get banned) about this latest insult to President Obama about his choice. It is so clear to me why, and yet he remains steadfast and professional in the light of so much hatred and underhanded dealings. What’s next? Calling him an “N” right his face on national TV at high noon on the 4th of July in Macy’s window? I guess I’ve just lived too long.

    Like

    • LOL. We both have lived too long. But on second thought maybe we are the voices needed to counteract the “stuff” that comes down the pike. Perhaps the reward for longevity is the ability to speak our minds. No fear in our corner.
      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

