From Muse to Reality

Fiction, Politics and Essays

To Boycott Or Not

Leave a comment

I respectfully disagree with Senator Dick Durbin that we should not boycott the Inauguration. He is my Senator; I live in Illinois.

The facts and actions that has played out during the very disturbing and contentious political events need to be part of American history. To cover up the events that have taken place during the 2016 presidential nomination would be a slap in the face of the constitutional process. IMO, boycotting the inauguration is speaking truth to power.

I respectfully add, “Congress shall make no law … abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, …”

Following are Senator Dick Durbin’s words why he is against boycotting the Inauguration:

“My feelings about the president elect are pretty clear but I think there’s a matter of respect for the office and respect for the constitutional process,” Senate Minority Whip Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) said. “And absent clear and convincing evidence that he did not win that election legitimately, then I’m going to be there.”

January 18, 2017,

Minnie E Miller
http://www.msminerva.wordpress.com
minniemiller247@gmail.com

Author: Minnie E. Miller

Author and Mz Minerva Publishing--Minnie Estelle Miller founder. I have spent years in politics in Chicago as a 20-something, wide eyed lady. And later in Los Angeles, San Francisco and finally back to Chicago. As a retiree, my days are filled with creative writing and posting on writing groups. I am still working on my memoir, don't go on Facebook or other social media. I truly believe that social media as we know it today is going to implode one day in the future. My WordPress acct. is https://msminerva.wordpress.com email is minniemiller247@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

